About AIRS

About AIRS


The idea of forming All India Rhinology Society was conceived by Dr. VP Sood in 1986 and was formally registered in Delhi after framing the laws & by laws by following signatories from different states, Dr. I.S.Gupta (Delhi), Dr. V.P.Sood (Delhi), Dr. D.K.Gosavi (Maharashtra), Dr. Debratan Nandi (West Bengal), Dr, H.P.Rajmalani (Rajasthan), Dr. R.C. Deka (Assam), Dr. N.R. Dewan (Madhya Pradesh) and Dr. T.V Krishna Rao (Hyderabad).

The first All India Rhinology conference was held at Lady Harding Medical College, New Delhi on 7th November 1987. Dr. H. Stammberger from Austria was invited to deliver Smt. Udhi Devi Sood Memorial Oration.
As of now, the All India Rhinology Society boasts 1200 Life members


The aims and objectives of the society shall be as under:
• To undertake scientific research in the area of rhinology and the related areas such as paranasal sinuses, skull base, corrective surgery of the nasofacial region and their physiology and anatomy.
• To establish, operate, promote, run, maintain, manage, institutions engaged in advancement of research pertaining to rhinology.
• To provide research facilities for carrying out clinical and applied research in concerned system and disciplines such as rhinology, allergy, corrective surgery, endoscopic surgery etc.
• To conduct experiment and to undertake and carry on research, experiments and tests related to the concerned research disciplines rhinology and allergy.
• To establish, provide, maintain and conduct or assist research laboratories and experimental institution for scientific research. This will be done when the society will have enough funds. Until such time research facilities in recognized medical colleges and. hospitals will be utilized.
• To give advice on, publish and otherwise promote utilization of research results in the field of rhinology and allied subjects.
• To promote, develop and improve scientific exchange of knowledge as well as technical co-operation between similar research Institutions in India and abroad.
• To conduct conferences, courses, workshops, lectures, seminars, demonstrations and exhibitions relating to the research done and results obtained. There will be an annual meeting with scientific programme.
• To make available to others techniques as a result of research by individual or groups of members of the society.
• To do all acts, matters and things as are incidental or conducive to the attainment of the above aims and objects.
• To print, publish, exhibit, subscribe and subsidize the periodicals, books, pamphlets or posters that may be considered desirable for the promotion of the objectives of the society. Efforts will be made for publishing a News Letter of the Society and journal.
• To acquire, build, hire, maintain, and run research laboratory and related facilities and to equip those with amenities considered necessary for the proper discharge of their functions of the society. This may be possible after having enough funds with the society.
• To borrow or raise money on security or otherwise from time to time for this purpose of the society upon such terms and conditions as may be deemed reasonable.
• To provide, award, institute fellowships or scholarships, stipends, remuneration or other similar payments to students and research scholars to facilitate their scientific research in area of concerned interest to the society.
• To co-operate with association of otolaryngologists of India and other national and International bodies.
The income of the society shall be used for its objectives.

ALL INDIA RHINOLOGY SOCIETY Names of the founding Governing Body Members:

• Dr. I.S. Gupta, New Delhi
Dr. V.P. Sood, New Delhi
• Dr. P.S. Saharia, New Delhi
• Dr. A.S. Bais, New Delhi
• Dr. S.K Kacker, New Delhi
• Dr. KL. Sawhney, New Delhi
• Dr. S.L. Ojha, Jabalpur
• Dr. A. Mahadevaiah, Bangalore
• Dr. R.M. Shah, Bombay
• Dr. N.N. Dutta, Guwahati
• Dr. P.S. Saharia, New Delhi
• Dr. J.N. Gurtu, Calcutta

Names of the persons who formed the society and were signatories for registration of society under Societies Registration Act, 1860.

• Dr. I.S. Gupta, New Delhi
Dr. V.P. Sood, Shimla (H.P.)
• Dr. D.K Gosavi, Miraj (Maharastra)
• Dr. Debratan Nandi, Calcutta-700 026
• Dr. H.P. Rajmalani, Jaipur (Rajasthan)
• Dr. N.R. Dewan, Gwalior I (M.P.)
• Dr. T.B. Rama Krishna, Vishakhapatnam-(A.P.)
• Dr. R.C. Deka, Guwahati (Assam)
• Dr. Ashok Vaid, New Delhi


1. All India Rhinology Society (AIRS) Oration
2. Smt. Udhi Devi Sood and Dr VP Sood Oration
3. Dr Ashok Kumar Gupta Oration


  • For Senior Consultants Paper - Dr. IS Gupta Award
  • For Junior Consultant Paper - Neena Saharia Award.
  • For Resident Paper - Dr Adesh and Mitra Saxena Award
  • For Poster Session - Dr. Anoop Raj Award
  • For Video Session - Dr. Arvind Soni Award
  • For Quiz - Yagya Darshan Award

Invited Talks
Key - Note Address

Submission Guidelines

  • Category of abstract - Rhinology and Skull Base.
  • The structured abstract should be of a minimum 300 words for all sessions.
  • The abstract must be original and should not have been published.
  • The already presented paper will be not accepted.
  • No proxy presentation is allowed.
  • Registration of participants is a must for participation.
  • The last date for abstract submission is 31st October 2023.
  • The matter presented can be used by the All India Rhinology Society for its journal or YouTube channel.
  • All award participants have To be AIRS Members

Guidelines for awards papers


For Sr. Consultant & Jr. Consultants

  • Duration of presentation - 10 mins
  • Discussion Time - 2 mins
  • The abstract must be original and should not have been published Last date of submission is 31st October 2023 Should be preregistered for the conference Structured abstract should be submitted

For Residents

  • Duration of Presentation - 8 mins
  • Discussion Time - 2 mins
  • Should be with the permission of the HOD


Total Pageviews